HomeGeneral AwarenessWho was First Prime Minister of India

Who was First Prime Minister of India

Who was First Prime Minister of India – The first Prime Minister of India was Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, who took oath on 15th August 1947. along with it, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru served as Prime Minster for 17 consecutive years.

Also Read – How Many Articles are in Indian Constitution?

First Prime Minister of India: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

Birth: 14th November 1889

Birthplace: Allahabad, North-Western Provinces, British India

Father Name – Motilal Nehru,

Mother Name – Swarup Rani Nehru

Death: 27th May 1964, New Delhi, India.

Jawaharlal Nehru was born on November 14, 1889in Allahabad, India. He completed his education in England and came back to India for being a part of the freedom struggle against British colonial rule.

Jawaharlal Nehru as 1st Prime Minster of India

On August 15, 1947, Jawaharlal Nehru was elected as the first Prime Minister of Independent India on August 15, 1947. he roled in shaping the nation’s policies and governance. Nehru’s leadership aimed to focus on nation-building, socio-economic reforms, and promoting secularism and democracy.

Under Nehru’s visionary leadership, the foundation for India’s growth as a modern, democratic nation was laid. He served as Prime Minister for consecutive 17 years until his death on 27th May 1964.


Jawaharlal Nehru was honored with several prestigious awards, these are:

  • Bharat Ratna in 1955
  • Lenin Peace Prize in 1955
  • Order of the Yugolsav Star in 1954

Institutions named after 1st Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru

  • Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru College of Engineering

List of Former Prime Ministers of India (1947- 2023)

S. No.NameTenure
1.Jawaharlal Nehru15 August 1947- 27 May 1964
2.Gulzarilal Nanda27 May 1964- 9 June 1964
3.Lal Bahadur Shastri9 June 1964- 11 January 1966
4.Gulzarilal Nanda11 January 1966- 24 January 1966
5.Indira Gandhi24 January 1966- 24 March 1977
6.Morarji Desai24 March 1977- 28 July 1979
7.Charan Singh28 July 1979- 14 January 1980
8.Indira Gandhi14 January 1980- 31 October 1984
9.Rajiv Gandhi31 October 1984- 2 December 1989
10.V.P. Singh2 December 1989- 10 November 1990
11.Chandra Shekhar10 December 1990- 21 June 1991
12.P.V. Narasimha Rao21 June 1991- 16 May 1996
13.Atal Bihari Vajpayee16 May 1996- 1 June 1996
14.H.D. Deve Gowda1 June 1996- 21 April 1998
15.Inder Kumar Gujral21 April 1998- 19 March 1998
16.Atal Bihari Vajpayee19 March 1998- 22 May 2004
17.Manmohan Singh22 May 2004- 26 May 2014
18.Narendra Modi2014- present

Latest News