HomeGeneral AwarenessHow Many Articles are in Indian Constitution?

How Many Articles are in Indian Constitution?

How Many Articles are in Indian Constitution? – The Indian constitution consists of 448 articles in 25 parts and 10 schedules and Govt made 105 amendments to add all these, initially, Our constitution has 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules.  Each set of articles includes important parts of the constitution such as legislatures, executive, schedules, Parts of the Indian Constitution, constitutional bodies, statutory bodies, fundamental rights, and more.

On January 26th, 1950, the Indian Constitution was adopted and was made on 26th November 1949 and this day i.e. 26 November is observed as Constitution Day every year in India.

Also Read – Most Populous Country in the World

List of Articles and their related subjects:

PartsSubjects NameArticles
Part IUnion & Its TerritoryArticles 1-4
Part IICitizenshipArticle 5-11
Part IIIFundamental RightsArticle 12-35
Part IVDirective PrinciplesArticle 36-51
Part IV AFundamental DutiesArticle 51A
Part VThe UnionArticle 52-151
Part VIThe StatesArticle 152-237
Part VII7th Amendment Act, 1956 repealed Part VII
Part VIIIThe Union TerritoriesArticle 239-242
Part IXThe PanchayatsArticle 243-243O
Part IX AThe MunicipalitiesArticle 243P-243ZG
Part IX BCo-operative SocietiesArticle 243ZH- 243ZT
Part XScheduled and Tribal AreasArticle 244-244A
Part XIRelation between Union & StatesArticle 245-263
Part XIIFinance, Property, Contracts and SuitsArticle 264-300A
Part XIIITrade, Commerce and Intercourse within the territory of IndiaArticle 301-307
Part XIVServices under the Union and StatesArticle 308-323
Part XIV ATribunalsArticle 324-329 A
Part XVElectionsArticle 330-342
Part XVISpecial Provisions related to certain classesArticle 343-351
Part XVIIOfficial LanguagesArticle 352-360
Part XIXEmergency ProvisionsArticle 361-367
Part XXMiscellaneousArticle 368
Part XXITemporary, Transitional and Special ProvisionsArticle 369-392
Part XXIIShort title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and RepealsArticle  393-395

Also Read – Rajasthan Govt Announces 19 New Districts, 3 New Divisions in State

How many articles are there in the Indian Constitution currently?

At present, the Indian Constitution has 448 articles in 25 parts and 10 schedules.

When was the Indian Constitution adopted?

The Indian Constitution was officially adopted on 26 January 1950.

How many articles were there in the Indian Constitution at the time of its commencement?

The Indian Constitution had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules at the time of its commencement.

Latest News