HomeNewsSportsOne Day Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)

One Day Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)

One Day Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023) – The 13th edition of the ODI Cricket World Cup is being played in India from October 5 to November 19, 2023. England vs. New Zealand played the opening match of the 2023 50-overs World Cup. England is the defending champions of 2019.

ODI Cricket World Cup

The tournament was initially started in England in 1975 and was a 60-over tournament. In 1987, India and Pakistan hosted the tournament, marking the first time it took place outside of England. Plus, the number of overs played per side was reduced to 50 in the 1987 tournament.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

1975EnglandWest IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEnglandNew ZealandMatch tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count
Highest Team Scores In ICC Cricket World Cup
Most Sixes In International Cricket Matches
Most Wicket Taker In ICC ODI World Cup 2023
One Day Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 To 2023)
Most Run Scorer in ICC World Cup 2023

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Australia is the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup and won the World Cup 5 times and ended as the runner-up 2 times. Followed by India and West Indies won the World Cup title 2 times. The last ICC ODI Men’s World Cup 2019 was conducted in England and Wales and was won by England for the first time. Let’s have a look at the list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners country-wise.

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia751987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
England4120191979, 1987, 1992
India321983, 20112003
New Zealand202015, 2019
Sri Lanka3119962007, 2011
West Indies321975, 19791983

Cricket World Cup Winners List- FAQs

Q1. How many Cricket World Cups have been conducted so far?


Q2. Which team won the ICC World Cup the most number of times?

The Australian team won the world 5 times.

Q3. How many times has India won the ODI World Cup?

India won the Cricket World Cup 2 times in 1983 and 2011.

Q4. When was the T-20 World Cup started?


Q5. The Cricket World Cup 2023 will be hosted by?


Q6. Who will host the 2027 Cricket World Cup?

ICC 2027 Cricket World Cup will be held in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia in October and November 2027.

Latest News