HomeNewsInternationalMd. Sahabuddin takes oath as the 22nd President of Bangladesh

Md. Sahabuddin takes oath as the 22nd President of Bangladesh

Md. Sahabuddin takes oath as the 22nd President of BangladeshVeteran freedom fighter, jurist and politician Md. Sahabuddin was sworn in as the 22nd President of Bangladesh on 24 April 2023 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. He was administered the oath of office by Parliament Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury in the presence of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique, Cabinet members and other dignitaries.

Also Read: Minister Bhupender Yadav launches new features on eShram portal

Who is Md. Sahabuddin?

  • Md. Sahabuddin was born on December 10, 1949, in Pabna town of Bangladesh.
  • His nickname is Chupu.
  • he completed his MSc degree from Rajshahi University in 1974, and entered into the Judicial service in Bangladesh.
  • During his career, he worked as District and Sessions Judge and Anti Corruption Commissioner (ACC) Commissioner.
  • Sahabuddin joined the 6-Point Movement in 1966, the Bhutta (Maize) Movement in 1967, mass uprisings in1969, the election of 1970 and the Liberation War in 1971.
  • He had also led a protest against the brutal killing of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujiburrahman.

Also Read: India launches ‘Operation Kaveri’ to bring back citizens stranded in Sudan

About Bangladesh –

  • President: Shahabuddin Chuppu
  • Capital: Dhaka
  • Prime Minister: Sheikh Hasina
  • Currency: Bangladeshi Taka
  • Population: 16.94 crores (2021) World Bank
  • Official language: Bengali

Also Read – List of Presidents of Bangladesh

List of Presidents of Bangladesh (1971 – 2023)

1Abdul Hamid20 March 2013 – IncumbentBangladesh Awami League
2Zillur Rahman12 February 2009 – 20 March 2013Bangladesh Awami League
3Iajuddin Ahmed6 September 2002 – 12 February 2009
4Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar21 June 2002 – 6 September 2002Bangladesh Nationalist Party
5AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury14 November 2001 – 21 June 2002Bangladesh Nationalist Party
6Shahabuddin Ahmed9 October 1996 – 14 November 2001
7Abdur Rahman Biswas10 October 1991 – 9 October 1996Bangladesh Nationalist Party
8Shahabuddin Ahmed6 December 1990 – 10 October 1991
9Hussain Muhammad Ershad11 December 1983 – 6 December 1990Jatiya Party
10A. F. M. Ahsanuddin Chowdhury27 March 1982 – 10 December 1983
11Hussain Muhammad Ershad24 March 1982 – 27 March 1982Military
12Abdus Sattar30 May 1981 – 24 March 1982Bangladesh Nationalist Party
13Ziaur Rahman21 April 1977 – 30 May 1981Bangladesh Nationalist Party
14Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem6 November 1975 – 21 April 1977Bangladesh Awami League
15Khandaker, Moshtaque Ahmed15 August 1975 – 6 November 1975Bangladesh Awami League
16Sheikh Mujibur Rahman25 January 1975 – 15 August 1975Bangladesh Awami League
17Mohammad Mohammadullah24 December 1973 – 25 January 1975Bangladesh Awami League
18Abu Sayeed Chowdhury12 January 1972 – 24 December 1973Bangladesh Awami League
19Syed Nazrul Islam17 April 1971 – 12 January 1972Bangladesh Awami League
20Sheikh Mujibur Rahman17 April 1971 – 12 January 1972Bangladesh Awami League

Latest News