HomeUSA NewsWyoming | Capital, Map, Population, History, & Facts

Wyoming | Capital, Map, Population, History, & Facts

Wyoming is a state in the Mountain West subregion of the Western United States. It borders with Montana to the north and northwest, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Idaho to the west, Utah to the southwest, and Colorado to the south. As per the 2020 United States census, its population is 576,851. Wyoming is known as the least populous state despite being the 10th largest by area, with the second-lowest population density after Alaska. The state capital and most populous city is Cheyenne.

Details About Wyoming

  • Capital – Cheyenne
  • Largest city – Cheyenne
  • Largest county – Laramie
  • Largest metro and urban areas – Cheyenne
  • Governor- Mark Gordon (R)
  • Secretary of State – Chuck Gray (R)
  • Legislature – Wyoming Legislature
  • Upper house – Senate
  • Lower house – House of Representatives
  • Judiciary – Wyoming Supreme Court
  • U.S. senators – John Barrasso (R), Cynthia Lummis (R)
  • U.S. House delegation – Harriet Hageman (R)


  • Total Area – 97,914 sq mi (253,600 km)
  • Rank by area -10th


Length – 371.8 mi (599 km)
Width – 279 mi (451 km)


Official language – English.

Symbols of Wyoming

  • State bird: western meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta)
  • State coin: Sacagawea dollar
  • State dinosaur: Triceratops
  • State emblem: Bucking Horse and Rider
  • State fish: cutthroat trout (Oncorhynchus clarki)
  • State nicknames: Equality State; Cowboy State; Big Wyoming
  • State reptile: horned lizard (Phrynosoma douglassi brevirostre)
  • State seal: Great Seal of the State of Wyoming
  • State song: “Wyoming” by Charles E. Winter & George E. Knapp
  • State sport: rodeo
  • State tree: plains cottonwood (Populus sargentii)
  • State flag: Flag of the State of Wyoming
  • State flower: Wyoming Indian paintbrush (Castilleja linariifolia)
  • State fossil: Knightia
  • State gemstone: Wyoming nephrite jade
  • State grass: western wheatgrass (Pascopyrum smithii)
  • State insect: Sheridan’s green hairstreak butterfly (Callophrys sheridanii)
  • State mammal: American bison (Bison bison)
  • State motto: Equal Rights

List of counties in Wyoming

The state of Wyoming includes 23 counties.


National parks

  • Grand Teton National Park
  • Yellowstone National Park

Memorial parkway

The John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial Parkway connects Yellowstone and Grand Teton.

National recreation areas

  • Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area
  • Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

National monuments

  • Devils Tower National Monument
  • Fossil Butte National Monument

National historic trails, landmarks and sites

  • California National Historic Trail
  • Fort Laramie National Historic Site
  • Independence Rock National Historic Landmark
  • Medicine Wheel/Medicine Mountain National Historic Landmark
  • Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail
  • National Register of Historic Places listings in Wyoming
  • Oregon National Historic Trail
  • Pony Express National Historic Trail

National fish hatcheries

  • Jackson National Fish Hatchery
  • Saratoga National Fish Hatchery
  • National wildlife refuges
  • National Elk Refuge
  • Seedskadee National Wildlife Refuge

List of colleges and universities in Wyoming

College NameLocationFounded
Casper CollegeCasper1944
Central Wyoming CollegeRiverton1966
Eastern Wyoming CollegeTorrington1948
Gillette CollegeGillette1969
Laramie County Community CollegeCheyenne1968
Northwest CollegePowell1946
Sheridan CollegeSheridan1948
Western Wyoming Community CollegeRock Springs1959
University of WyomingLaramie1886
Wyoming Catholic CollegeLander2005
Wyoming Technical Institute (WyoTech)Laramie1966
Wind River Tribal CollegeFort Washakie1997


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News