List of ISRO Chairman from 1963 to 2023: Name & Working Period

List of ISRO Chairman
List of ISRO Chairman

List of ISRO Chairman from 1963 to 2023: Name & Working PeriodIndian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is India’s Space Agency and its headquarters is located in Bengaluru. The parent organization of ISRO is the Department of Space. The Chairman of ISRO also acts as an executive of DOS.

List of ISRO Chairman from 1963 to 2023

There are 11 ISRO Chairpersons who have elected since 1963. On 12 January 2022, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) selected S. Somnath as the 11th chairman of the ISRO. Dr. Vikram Sarabhai served as the first IRSO Chairman.

S.N.ISRO ChairmanTenure
1.Dr. Vikram Sarabhai1963 to 1971
2.Prof. M.G.K. MenonJan. 1972 to Sep. 1972
3.Prof. Satish Dhawan1972 to 1984
4.Prof. U.R. Rao1984 to 1994
5.Dr. k. kasturirangan1994 to 2003
6.G. Madhavan Nair2003 to 2009
7.Dr. k. Radhakrishnan2009 to 2014
8.Dr. Shailesh Nayak2015 to 2015
9.A.S. Kirar Kumar2015 to 2018
10.Dr. K. SivanJan. 2018 to Jan. 2022
11.S. Somnath12 Jan. 2022 to Present

Chairpersons of ISRO:

Vikram Sarabhai (1963 to 1972):

He is called the father of the Indian Space Program. Vikram Sarabhai founded these institutions:

  1. Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad.
  2. Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Ahmedabad.
  3. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram.
  4. Faster Breeder Test Reactor, Kalpakkam.