HomeNewsAppointment/ResignsIndia as non-permanent member of UN Security Council

India as non-permanent member of UN Security Council

member of UN Security Council

  • India has been chosen as the non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. India got victory in the election for a two-year term and got 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly. India has won the non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the period from 2021 to 2022. the period will be started on 1st January 2021.
  • On the other hand, Mexico, Ireland and Norway also won the Security Council elections along with India. The United Nations consists of five permanent members and 10 non-permanent members.

Five permanent members:

  1. China
  2. France
  3. Russian Federation
  4. United Kingdom
  5. United States

10 non-permanent members :

  1. Belgium (2020)
  2. Dominican Republic (2020)
  3. Estonia (2021)
  4. Germany (2020)
  5. Indonesia (2020)
  6. Niger (2021)
  7. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (2021)
  8. South Africa (2020)
  9. Tunisia (2021)
  10. Viet Nam (2021)

About United Nations Security Council –
Headquarters: New York, United States
Founded: 24 October 1945


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News