HomeNewsAwards2023 Breakthrough Prize winners announced

2023 Breakthrough Prize winners announced

2023 Breakthrough Prize winners announced – The 2023 winners of the Breakthrough Prizes, dubbed the “Oscars of Science,” have been announced and were split a total of more than $15 million. A group of Silicon Valley entrepreneurs created the Breakthrough Prizes in 2010. The Breakthrough Prizes are the most richly endowed awards in science, disbursing more than the Nobel prizes.

  • In 2022, Three prizes have been awarded in the life sciences category, one for mathematics and one for physics.
  • Each prize has $3 million — more than the $1 million for a Nobel winner.

2023 Breakthrough Prize winners

  • The Breakthrough Prize in mathematics has been awarded to Daniel Spielman of Yale University for multiple discoveries in theoretical computer science and mathematics.
  • The prize in fundamental physics was presented to Charles Bennett, Gilles Brassard, David Deutsch and Peter Shor for their work in quantum information.
  • Clifford Brangwynne and Anthony Hyman were honoured with a life sciences prize for discovering a new mechanism of cellular organization.
  • The other life sciences prizes were distributed to Demis Hassabis and John Jumper for developing AlphaFold, which predicts the structure of proteins, and Emmanuel Mignot and Masashi Yanagisawa for discovering the causes of narcolepsy.

★★★★  You Can Also Read  ★★★★

Computer Awareness Quiz Questions Set (Banking)
Read Daily Current Affairs Topic Wise
Daily Current Affairs Quiz (Current GK Test)
Static Gk Quiz Questions and Answers

📣 Prepare Exams is now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube Channel, and Google News to get all the latest News. Download PrepareExams

******** End ********


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News