New Zealand wins first ICC World Test Championship

New Zealand wins first ICC World Test Championship

On 23rd June 2021, New Zealand won the first ICC World Test Championship, defeating the Indian Team. The match had 6 days of play in place of the regular 5 days due to the rain factor.

  • Kyle Jamieson (NZ) was honored with the Player of the match while Kane Williamson (NZ) became the player of the series.
  • The first test championship was started in 2019 and the final match was held between India and New Zealand in 2021. And, the next Test Championship will be played between 2021-2023.

ICC World Test Championship: Top 3 Team

  •  New Zealand
  • India
  • Australia

World Test Championship prize money

  • New Zealand was awarded a cash prize of 1.6 million US dollars (around Rs. 11.88 crores)
  • India was also awarded prize money of $80,000 (around Rs. 5.94 crore)
  • Australia, England and Pakistan will receieve the prize money of $450,000 (Rs 3.8 crore), $350,000 (Rs 2.62 crore) and $200,000 (Rs 1.5 crore) respectively.
  • West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh teams will also be awarded $100,000 (Rs 75 lakh) each.


📣 Prepare Exams is now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube Channel, and Google News to get all the latest News first Like, Follow and bookmark our website @

For all the latest Updates, download PrepareExams App.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *