HomeStatic GKList of Governors of Tennessee

List of Governors of Tennessee

List of Governors of Tennessee USA – In this article, you will find all the Governors of Tennessee, the list of Governors of Tennessee, all the Governors of Tennessee with their tenure, political party.

Join Telegram

PrepareExams Telegram Channel

Subscribe To YouTube PrepareExams Youtube Channel
Follow Us on Instagram PrepareExams Instagram Page
Join Facebook Page PrepareExams Facebook Page

List of Governors of Tennessee USA (1776 – 2023)

S.n.GovernorTerm FromTerm ToParty
1John Sevier30 March 179623 September 1801Democratic-Republican
2Archibald Roane23 September 180123 September 1803Democratic-Republican
3John Sevier23 September 180320 September 1809Democratic-Republican
4Willie Blount20 September 180927 September 1815Democratic-Republican
5Joseph McMinn27 September 18151 October 1821Democratic-Republican
6William Carroll1 October 18211 October 1827Democratic-Republican
7Sam Houston1 October 182716 April 1829Democratic-Republican
8William Hall16 April 18291 October 1829Democratic
9William Carroll1 October 182912 October 1835Democratic
10Newton Cannon12 October 183514 October 1839Whig
11James K. Polk14 October 183915 October 1841Democratic
12James C. Jones15 October 184114 October 1845Whig
13Aaron V. Brown14 October 184517 October 1847Democratic
14Neill S. Brown17 October 184716 October 1849Whig
15William Trousdale16 October 184916 October 1851Democratic
16William B. Campbell16 October 185117 October 1853Whig
17Andrew Johnson17 October 18533 November 1857Democratic
18Isham G. Harris3 November 185712 March 1862Democratic
19Andrew Johnson12 March 18624 March 1865Unionist/Military
20Edward H. East4 March 18655 April 1865Republican
21William G. Brownlow5 April 186525 February 1869Republican
22Dewitt Clinton Senter25 February 186910 October 1871Republican
23John C. Brown10 October 187118 January 1875Democratic
24James D. Porter18 January 187516 February 1879Democratic
25Albert S. Marks16 February 187917 January 1881Democratic
26Alvin Hawkins17 January 188115 January 1883Republican
27William B. Bate15 January 188317 January 1887Democratic
28Robert Love Taylor17 January 188719 January 1891Democratic
29John P. Buchanan19 January 189116 January 1893Farm-Labor
30Peter Turney16 January 189321 January 1897Democratic
31Robert Love Taylor21 January 189716 January 1899Democratic
32Benton McMillin16 January 189919 January 1903Democratic
33James B. Frazier19 January 190321 March 1905Democratic
34John I. Cox21 March 190517 January 1907Democratic
35Malcolm R. Patterson17 January 190726 January 1911Democratic
36Ben W. Hooper26 January 191117 January 1915Republican
37Tom C. Rye17 January 191515 January 1919Democratic
38A. H. Roberts15 January 191915 January 1921Democratic
39Alfred A. Taylor15 January 192116 January 1923Republican
40Austin Peay16 January 19233 October 1927Democratic
41Henry Hollis Horton3 October 192717 January 1933Democratic
42Harry Hill McAlister17 January 193315 January 1937Democratic
43Gordon Browning15 January 193716 January 1939Democratic
44Prentice Cooper16 January 193916 January 1945Democratic
45Jim Nance McCord16 January 194516 January 1949Democratic
46Gordon Browning16 January 194915 January 1953Democratic
47Frank G. Clement15 January 195319 January 1959Democratic
48Buford Ellington19 January 195915 January 1963Democratic
49Frank G. Clement15 January 196316 January 1967Democratic
50Buford Ellington16 January 196716 January 1971Democratic
51Winfield Dunn16 January 197118 January 1975Republican
52Ray Blanton18 January 197517 January 1979Democratic
53Lamar Alexander17 January 197917 January 1987Republican
54Ned McWherter17 January 198721 January 1995Democratic
55Don Sundquist21 January 199518 January 2003Republican
56Phil Bredesen18 January 200315 January 2011Democratic
57Bill Haslam15 January 201119 January 2019Republican
58Bill Lee19 January 2019IncumbentRepublican

Latest News