HomeStatic GKFirst President of India, Check His Name

First President of India, Check His Name

India is the world’s largest democracy and has a rich history marked by visionary leaders who played important roles in heading the nation towards its cherished goals of freedom and prosperity. Dr. Rajendra Prasad who served as the first President of India. We have discussed his extraordinary life, substantial contributions and unwavering dedication to the nation.

Who is the President of India?

The President of India is known as the head of the state. He/she acts on the advice of the Prime Minister. The president does not exercise executive powers. All the executive decisions are executed in the name of the President of India.

First President of India: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Personal Details:

Date of Birth3 December 1884
Birth placeZiradei, Bengal Presidency, British India
Birthplace28 February 1963 in Patna, Bihar, India

Early Life of Dr. Rajendra Prasad

He was born on 3 December 1884in Ziradei, Bengal Presidency, British India. He completed his degrees in law and economics. He participated in the Indian National Congress and contributed to India’s struggle for Independence. He became a prominent advocate of non-violent resistance and civil disobedience.

Also Read – List of First Female in India

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as 1st President of India

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was appointed as India’s first President and took charge as President of India on 26 January 1950. He served as President of India for consecutive 12 years between 1950 and 1962. He played an important role in bringing people together and building a strong and united nation. He worked honestly, with humility and dedication in serving the nation.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad – Awards

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was honoured with various awards and honours for his contributions to the nation and society. These are as follows:

  • Bharat Ratna (1962)
  • Padma Vibhushan (1957)
  • Doctorate of Law
  • Nishan-e-Pakistan

List of Institutions named after Dr. Rajendra Prasad

  • Rajendra Prasad Institute of Communication and Management
  • Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University
  • Rajendra Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Rajendra Prasad College

List of Former President of India (1950-2023)

Droupadi Murmu is serving as the current President of India from 21st July 2022. Check the list of former President of India from 1950-2023 below:

S.No.President NamePeriod
1.Dr. Rajendra Prasad26 January 1950- 13 May 1962
2.Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13 May 1962- 13 May 1967
3.Dr. Zakir Hussain13 May 1967- 3 May 1969
4.Varahagiri Venkata Giri3 May 1969- 20 July 1969
5.Mohammad Hidayatullah20 July 1969- 24 August 1969
6.Varahagiri Venkata Giri24 August 1969- 24 August 1974
7.Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed24 August 1974- 11 February 1977
8.Basappa Danappa Jatti11 February 1977- 25 July  1977
9.Neelam Sanjiva Reddy25 July 1977- 25 July 1982
10.Giani Zail Singh25 July 1982- 25 July 1987
11.Ramaswamy Venkataraman25 July 1987- 25 July 1992
12.Shankar Dayal Sharma25 July 1992- 25 July 1997
13.Kocheril Raman Narayan25 July 1997- 25 July 2002
14.Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam25 July 2002- 25 July 2007
15.Pratibha Patil25 July 2007- 25 July 2012
16.Pranab Mukherjee25 July 2012- 25 July 2017
17.Shri Ram Nath Kovind25 July 2017- 21 July 2022
18.Droupadi Murmu21 July 2022- present

First President of India – FAQs

Who is the first President of India?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad served as the first President of India from 26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962.

Who is the current President of India?

The current President of India is Draupadi Murmu, serving from 21 July 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News