HomeNewsAppointment/ResignsBidyut Bihari Swain As UPSC member

Bidyut Bihari Swain As UPSC member

Bidyut Bihari Swain As UPSC member – Former Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises (MSME) secretary Bidyut Bihari Swain was sworn in as a UPSC member and was administered the oath of office and secrecy by UPSC chairman Manoj Soni. Bidyut Bihari Swain is a 1988 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Gujarat cadre.

  • A UPSC member is selected for a term of 6 years or until attaining 65 years of age.
  • Swain was to superannuate in September 2023 after turning 60, the age of retirement.
  • Swain served the government of Gujarat at the district and state levels from 1989 to 2018.
  • In 2018, he joined the government of India as an additional secretary in the Department of Commerce in charge of Special Economic Zones, trade negotiations of India with Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) countries, and export insurance.
  • He served as chairperson of the Kimberley Protocol and Commissioner General of India, World Expo-Dubai, according to his official biodata.
  • Swain holds a Master of Arts (MA) degree in political science from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, and a Masters in Public Policy and Management from The Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, The Netherlands.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

  • The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) completes a civil services examination every year to choose officers of the IAS, Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS), among others.

Also Read – Telangana Formation Day 2023


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News