HomeNewsAppointment/ResignsRajiv Kumar as new Election Commissioner

Rajiv Kumar as new Election Commissioner


Rajiv Kumar as new Election Commissioner

On 1st September 220, Rajeev Kumar has taken charge as the Election Commissioner of India. he has become the part of the Election Commission of India and will serve with Election Commissioners Sushil Chandra and Sunil Arora.

On 21st August 2020, His appointment was announced by President Ram Nath Kovind. Ashok Lavasa gave resignation from the post.

Term as an Election Commissioner –

Rajiv Kumar will serve as Election Commissioner for a period of five years. he will complete his term in 2025. he will play a role in upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha Elections.

Who is Rajiv Kumar?

He is an IAS officer of 1984-batch from Jharkhand cadre. he is having an experience of more than 30 years in public policy and administration across various sectors.

at present, he was serving as Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB)’s chairman. In the Year 2017, He assumed the post as a secretary in the Financial Services Department.

He has played an important role in implement of PM Narendra Modi’s financial inclusion plan. it includes schemes Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Mudra loan scheme.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Latest Articles