HomeNewsAwardsNilmani Phookan Jr and Damodar Mauzo receive Jnanpith Award

Nilmani Phookan Jr and Damodar Mauzo receive Jnanpith Award

Nilmani Phookan Jr and Damodar Mauzo receive Jnanpith Award – Assamese poet Nilmani Phookan Jr received the 56th Jnanpith Award and becomes the 3rd Assamese after Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya (1979) and Mamoni Raisom Goswami (2000). Konkani novelist Damodar Mauzo received the 57th Jnanpith Award and becomes a Konkani writer after Ravindra Kelekar (42nd edition in 2006) who has won the Jnanpith award.

About Jnanpith Award –

  • Jnanpith Award is the country’s highest literary award and is bestowed on writers for “their outstanding contribution to literature”.
  • Every year, the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization presents this literary award.
  • it was instituted in 1961 and is conferred only to Indian writers who write in Indian languages and English.

About the Nilmani Phookan Jr:

  • Nilmani Phookan Jr is a Sahitya Akademi and Padma Shri awardee.
  • He is a poet of renown and has written Surya Henu Nami Ahe Ei Nodiyedi, Gulapi Jamur Lagna, and Kobita.
  • Phookan received the Padma Shri in 1990 and received the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship in 2002.

About the Damodar Mauzo:

  • Mauzo is known for his novels, such as Karmelin, Tsunami Simon, and the short stories Teresa’s Man and Other Stories from Goa.
  • Mauzo is based out of Majorda, Goa, and has also received the Sahitya Akademi Award.

★★★★  You Can Also Read  ★★★★

Computer Awareness Quiz Questions Set (Banking)
Read Daily Current Affairs Topic Wise
Daily Current Affairs Quiz (Current GK Test)
Static Gk Quiz Questions and Answers

📣 Prepare Exams is now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube Channel, and Google News to get all the latest News first Like, Follow and bookmark our website @ PrepareExams.com.

For all the latest Updates, download PrepareExams App.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Latest Articles